Rate This Thread
#575088 - 04/21/21 06:59 AM Boat Structural Repairs  
tpenfield Offline
Admiral
tpenfield  Offline
Admiral

Cape Cod, MA
Greetings,

I have been uploading a bunch of photos into albums . . . now that I sort of figured the album thing out. Anyway, one of my albums is about a major structural repair that I had to do on my Formula 330 SS about a year or 2 after purchasing it.

Here is the link to the Album >>> Bulkhead and Fuel Tank Repair Album

The back story is that when I had the pre-purchase survey done the surveyor noted that the main bulkhead, which separates the engine bay from the fuel tank bay, had a high level of moisture. The bulkhead was still solid, but he told me to "keep an eye on it". A year or so after keeping an eye on it, I decided to dig into it and see what I could actually do about it, figuring it would only get worse over time, and perhaps I could 'nip it in the bud'.

I studied up on the structure of the boat, referencing factory photos of the hull during the build process, and determined that the moisture was fairly isolated to the center section of the bulkhead.

[Linked Image]

I planned to cut the suspect section of the bulkhead out and replace it with new material. That whole process, led me to understand that the fuel tank was causing the problem in the bulkhead and that the paint on the fuel tank was the culprit, in that it was separating from the tank. It is supposed to stick to the tank, making a solid bond between the tank and the foam which surrounds it.

So, the tank had to come out for inspection and refurbishment or possibly replacement. . .

[Linked Image]

At that point, I realized that the moisture had gone forward beyond the fuel tank bay and into a storage compartment area that resides under the helm seat area.

[Linked Image]

So, the scope of the repair quickly became . . . Bulkhead, fuel tank, storage compartment. (typically these repairs go about 3X to 5X what you originally are thinking)

[Linked Image]